Linspire Linux

grumpygramp 10:26 19 Jul 06

Has anyone got any first hand experience of Linespire Linux pleas

dth 21:00 19 Jul 06

There are one or two PCA members who have recommended this distribution of Linux in the past and am sure that they'll be along soon.

phoenix198 21:36 19 Jul 06

I've some experience of Linspire 5.0 snd until very recently had it installed on one of my PCs.

What was it you wanted to ask about?

dth 14:03 20 Jul 06

If you are thinking of perhaps ditching Windows and moving to Linux - there is a good article in this weeks Micro Mart.

(apologies FE)

grumpygramp 15:27 20 Jul 06

phoenix 198 basically is it worth ditching XP for??

phoenix198 16:32 20 Jul 06

Now that's a $64k question, and one to which there is no simple answer (except for rabid anti-MS people for whom OS-2 Warp is probably preferable)

Linspire (just like other Linux distributions) is entirely capable of meeting most computing needs or requirements, be it office type work (Open Office, Star Office), databases (not my thing, but many available), multimedia playback and editing (big choice inclusing abaility to playback WMV, Real Audio and QuickTime files), web surfing, downloads and e-mail (Firefox and Thunderbird available, but plenty of other choices), CD/DVD authoring and burning (many, many choices). The choice of games is not so good although there are lots of puzzle and card type games available.

It installs easily and quite quickly, and gives options to take over a system entirely (deleting whatever OS and files are already there) or install into an empty partition or second hard drive (the option I took). The bespoke to Linspire "Click and Run (CNR)" software download and installation system is just about idiot proof and has a very large range of Linux software available - some good, some not so good!

User Interface takes its cues from Windows although you could adapt this as you see fit. Default settings are perfectly adequate, though.