Lenovo Yoga 3 Pro vs HP Spectre x360 - help please!

jjs1 19:42 21 Apr 15

Hello all. I have a very simple decision to make between two laptops, and any advice would be gratefully appreciated.

Owing to the fact that a company has given me store credit after a dispute and I have to buy something that they stock, and because I've decided I want to go for a fully convertible (laptop/tablet) machine, these are the only two choices I have (which at least keeps things simple).

A quick word on my usage: I research and write for a living, and so I'm mainly using Office type apps and often have a gazillion internet tabs open at once. I also tend to use my laptop as a multimedia hub, i.e. playing music and watching films. I travel a lot, both long-distance but also each day around the city, to and from the library, so portability and battery life are important. I don't play graphics-heavy games or do heavy photo/video editing.

Based on the above, which of the following do you think is a better bet? Both are 13.3" convertibles with a 256GB SSD, sufficient USB ports, backlit keyboards and priced identically:

• Lenovo Yoga Pro 3 - Intel Core M-5Y70, 8GB RAM, 3200 x 1800 pixels QHD+ screen, mini-HDMI port, weighs 1.19kg / 2.6 pounds

• HP Spectre x360 - Intel Core i5-5200U, 4GB RAM, 2560 x 1440 pixels QHD screen, full HDMI port, weighs 1.51kg / 3.3 pounds

In the Lenovo's favour, I like the bigger memory and the super-thin, super-light build. But I worry that the new processor doesn't seem to perform great in benchmark tests compared to the old i5 processors (will I notice this, given my usage?) and I'm not sure the anticipated gain in battery life has actually materialised. Also although I don't use HDMI often, I can imagine it might be a hassle to find a mini-HDMI connector/adapter whenever I do want to hook the laptop up to another screen.