Launch of new OS Vista

premier man 11:28 05 Mar 06

Could the FE answer a few questions on Vista for me
What PC requirements will be required for new Vista?
Has he tried it, and is it as good as it is cracked up to be?
after reading about it I can`t wait.
also do he recommend purchasing when it comes out, or wait until the glitches are ironed out?
Also has a price been mentioned?
As an oldstager of 76 I am still a novice at computers,
Although I have had PC`S for 10 years some things are still above my head,I rely very heavily on these forums for help for which I am very grateful.
Thanks Gordon

Forum Editor 12:26 05 Mar 06

1. Microsoft hasn't formally announced a minimum hardware specification for Vista yet, but that's likely to happen very soon.

2. Yes, I've tried it, I'm using it now, and yes, so far it does seem pretty good. There's a way to go before launch however, and I expect a great deal of tweaking to be done before then. In general terms Vista has a great deal that's good in terms of security, stability, and eye-candy, but whether or not it's something that the average home user will want/need in the short term remains to be seen. I believe that there's a good deal of mileage to be had from Windows XP before it's finished, and strictly between you, me and the rest of the planet, I think we'll see another service pack for XP shortly after the Vista launch. That, if it's released, could contain quite a lot of what's in Vista anyway. Power users, and people like me - Microsoft calls us 'early adopters' will want Vista, simply because it's the newest, shiniest thing in the shop.