Laptop...Tosh or Sony Dodgy?

allegedly 23:22 28 Jun 09

Hi all, Rob, newbie here. Had a couple of desktops over the years and used laptops at work a lot but finally getting round to buying one for myself (and kids, ofcourse!) so I've trawled through the web checking out whats available, within my price range,£450ish,(jeez!)
I've liked the look of Sonys and Toshiba for a while, almost purely aesthetics, so,whilst using the other popular brands as comparisons, I've narrowed it down to a few models in their ranges.
But I started to read some reviews, as you do, and was concerned to read that I've apparently choosen the two manufactures with the worst reliability and back up record!
This stuff isn't cheap so I was wondering if this is the case and it's general knowledge to those in the 'know' or have I just been unlucky to read reviews by a voiciferous minority!
Or lucky, maybe, to read 'em in time.
I'd really appreciate some input from those in the know, owners or otherwise
By the way, I've been looking for a low to midrange family/home use with 17", eg Tosh Satellite L350 171.
Thanks for reading this and looking forward to replies,
Cheers
Rob

Forum Editor 00:27 29 Jun 09

are always heard, simply because they're vociferous. Happy consumers may form the majority, but they tend to stay silent - they're happy, so why bother posting on web forums, etc.?

I've used Toshiba laptops for years, in fact I have one now, and I've developed an affection for them. They tend to be well-built, and in my experience at least they are reliable performers. I've certainly never had a single problem with one.

I've used Sony machines over the years, but I've never owned one. I've not heard bad reports in terms of reliability from the people I know who have owned them.