Laptop virgin - help required

Bill B 10:50 31 Jul 05

I am new to Laptops so help would be much appreciated.

I am about to buy a new laptop as I occasionally have to take it to work, but not often so weight is no problem. At present I have an old PC (5 years old) with AMD 1.7gHz so probably anything I buy will seem exceptionally faster than at present.

My dilema is do I buy

2.0GHz Intel Pentium-M Processor or AMD Athlon 64 3400

Or does it not really matter.

The specs I am looking at are 1024MB Ram, 100GB HD, Radeon 9700 graphics.

My main use of the PC will be Internet, MS Office, Corel Draw, Corel Photopaint and occasional games such as Doom 3 (not the latest games).

Battery life is not too important as the battery will almost always be on charge.

Which one should I buy? Is there anything I should be thinking about before buying? Is heat a problem for the AMD? Is integrated graphics a no-no? As I do not play games very often would this be a problem? Radeon 9700 graphics card is this OK?

I have seen several I might consider at [url]click here[/url]

Help much appreciated as I am no PC expert

Sapins 11:48 31 Jul 05

Their Discovery range look good, especially the 17" wide screen.

Dell do a similar 17" wide screen, Inspiron 9300, a Friend has recently bought one, his first computer which I helped him with the set up etc: I was most impressed and the delivery was excellent, worth a look click here

Bill B 11:52 31 Jul 05

the 17" is just too large really, I was hoping to have a 15.4".

But thanks anyway

Methedrine 12:00 31 Jul 05

Don't restrict yourself to just one online shop. Have a look at click here as well. They have some very good kit on there.

Kate B 13:32 31 Jul 05

Hmm, just do a search on ebuyer in this forum before you decide to buy. They're a bit patchy on the customer service, which would make me think twice about buying from them. I think they're fine when you don't need any kind of after-sales service, with good prices.