Imation cdr's

exprog 10:47 19 Apr 06

I have been using Imation cd's for some time, without problems. These I used to purchase in Argos or PC world. I now notice that both shops do not now stock them. Looking around I see they are stocked at Amazon, at a very cheap price.
However, looking at customer reviews of the product show a lot of unfavourable comments, particularly the recent ones. Does any one know if there is a reason for the unavailability of these cd's, and whether the quality of the ones available are still the same as before.

Stuartli 11:34 19 Apr 06

If you buy the Imation CD-Rs from Morrisons they are rebranded Taiyo Muden media - probably the finest media manufacturer in the world.

I've been buying them for around three years now (used to be £5.99 for a pack of 10 in cases or four packs for £10) and still have some 32x left, along with the more recent 48x and 52x versions.

I have never had a "coaster" with these disks and I've burned many dozens of them.

I've also got some Infiniti printable CD-Rs from 7DayShop at £3.49 for a spindle of 25 disks; again they are rebranded Taiyo Muden media and have proved first class both for printing and quality.

Whaty 12:55 19 Apr 06

Stuarti, how do you know they are rebranded?

I ask because some time ago I got a 50 spindle of unbranded CDR's (literally nothing on them at all), they were very cheap and they were brilliant, not one failure.!

I was recommended to use Verbetim (think that's spelt wrong but I'm sure you'll know what I mean), I've only used a dozen or so so far but two of them have glitched.

I guess the second question is, how do you know the good from the bad?

exprog, sorry to butt into your thread.

Regards,
Terry

Stuartli 13:39 19 Apr 06
  Whaty 14:27 19 Apr 06

Thanks...

Not only did I spell Verbatim wrong, but I also spelt your name incorrectly, sorry.

Stuartli 15:42 19 Apr 06

It's actually Stuart...:-)

Prof Jones 16:11 19 Apr 06