im new to pc, idiot proof help required

bbt 14:12 07 Jan 03
  bbt 14:12 07 Jan 03

santa delived this pc via time store. he also brought two games sims working great age of mythology not so great. each time i try to play inisiation fails or so the message keeps telling me. As a complete novice i contacted microsoft they say its a problem with my graphic card driver. this is all double dutch to me time have been as useful as chocolate teapot. is ther anybody that can help or point me in right direction. info i know about my pc: time monster machine, AMD athlon 2200+, 512 mb. running window xp home, video card s3 graphic prosavageDDR compaq
(driver s3gnbm.sys dated 15 march 2002.)
Idiot proof help needed urgently

€dstow 14:19 07 Jan 03

This will be much better answered if you post in Helproom. Some very knowledgeable people go there but they may not come here.

€d

PA28 14:32 07 Jan 03

As this is a new machine, suggest that you let Time sort it out for you - pronto. Probably right that it's your graphics driver (the bit of software that lets your video (graphics) card talk to your computer so that they can work together in harmony - well, that's the theory), but why should you have to sort this out? Talk to Time as your supplier, rather than Microsoft - let us know what transpires???

Sir Radfordin™ 14:41 07 Jan 03

Duplicate thread here: click here

bbt 15:11 07 Jan 03

time not interested in helping. said i should have bought extra backup disc. for £50.00 when purchasing machine. nobody told me that at time. i have a disc with driver on but they are the same ones i have installed. Time suggest i ring there tech help. £1.00 per minute. Have a feeling i made major error in purchasing from them. really dont want to give them any more hard earned cash unless last resort. have been to their web site and downloaded the drivers ther but no differnt to the one i have installed already. any other suggestions greatly recieved.

nightporter 15:24 07 Jan 03