I Want My new PC With Partitioned HDD

anniel 17:20 15 Sep 03

These days, 120GB of HDD is quite common.

I am thinking of buying a new PC..probably Dell, Evesham or Mesh. I rang Evesham and asked if they would sell me a PC with a partitioned HDD..Oh No, they said, we don't do that.

Well, what I want to know is why the hell not???

I am not an expert techie..I do not want to have the angst of doing my own partitioning if I am paying about £1,200 or more for a PC.

Can anyone tell me why they will not partition a PC..they allow you to configure before buying, but no facility to ask for a partitioned HDD.

fitfella29 17:42 15 Sep 03

not sure why they wont do it but its not hard to partition a drive.

a program called "partition magic" will do it for you.

leo49 17:53 15 Sep 03

If you don't want the trouble and "mental torment" of carrying out a simple operation yourself, then you'll just have to expend more time and trouble to find a supplier who will.

Why should they do it? Why don't they supply a PC in a dayglo pink case? Just because you want something done it doesn't mean that someone should do it.

anniel 17:54 15 Sep 03

My son suggested this when i girst got my current 40GB drive.

You will understand what a dolt I am when I tell you that I crashed my PC trying to use partition magic and had to get the PC reformatted..not the most pleasnat experience.

I just think that these companies should realise that there are many PC users like me out there,who would appreiate this ervice and in fact i would be prepared to pay a litlle extra for it...I do not need a modem, so why can't they leave that out and partition the HDD for me.

I realise most of you are experts who are happy tinkering away under the bonnet, but my expertise only runs to using my CD writer and fiddling about with my photos!

anniel 17:58 15 Sep 03