HP and tape ware software

Dr. Charles(retired now) 16:06 23 Aug 04

I have had an HP DAT 24i tape drive for many years as I worked in the industry.

Now retired I have had my computer stuck by lightening and had to replace it - -also upgrading to windows XP.

The drive came with no software and I was told that this was a "Plug and Play" now and to use the old software as new software was a "Download"

Lo and behold it now appears that HP do not have software which runs a single computer only networks and the Colorado II which was the old software has not been upgraded by HP for over 2 years and this old software will not run the tapedrive in XP.

So it looks as if I and many others having paid over £340 for a new tapedrive and having gone to XP am "Stuffed". Businesses are going potty and there is a whole discussion group at here

click here

since 2002.It seems HP are doing nothing but taking money which I think is false pretenses, in that they don`t tell you this product will NOT run on XP prior to purchase.So I have wasted my money.!!

Any ideas anyone - - -HELP!!

Best
Charles

spuds 16:24 23 Aug 04

I note that most of the items are dated in the 2002 region. When you purchased your new replacement, did it mention about being compatible with XP. Two years to solve a problem of this nature, seems to be a very long time for someone like HP.Surely they must have some definate answer by now.

Dr. Charles(retired now) 17:02 23 Aug 04

Nope Spud,
HP are just taking peoples money, I am sure they could have written the software but are so apathetic. If you looked at that website the discussions go from 2002 to July 2004 with businessmen wanting it.

Once they have sold the product thats all they seem to care about. The old software will run networks but thats Yosamite software not the Colorado II.

Best
Charles

Belatucadrus 18:31 24 Aug 04

click here have you tried this ? Seems to be a 50/50 shot, but may be worth a go.