HP iPaq HX4700

Forum Editor 17:53 14 May 05

Does anyone have personal experience of using this PDA?

One is winging its way to me as I write (a business gift from a grateful client, don't ask), and I want to know how much/little to look forward to it.

ton 21:44 15 May 05

No one else as lucky as you FE.

If the HX4700 is as good as the 2210 I've been using for the past two years I would be looking forward to it very much.

Forum Editor 23:32 15 May 05

The client isn't known for her generosity, which makes the unexpected gift all the more welcome.

I've looked at a couple of reviews, and they seemed OK. I've never been much of a PDA fan, but maybe this will change all that. I'll know for myself next weekend.

Kate B 01:21 16 May 05

In the same vein as ton, if it's as good as the 4150 I use, I hope you'll love it. The cut-down Windows is a bit clunky if you've ever used the elegant Palm OS but it does a lot. My only tiny quibble is that web-browsing using Pocket IE is a bit irritating in portrait mode - though you may be lucky and be getting a model that supports rotating the image to landscape.

Two gift-related cliches spring to mind:
there's no such thing as a free lunch and
never look a gift horse in the mouth.

Tell us which is the more appropriate when you get the PDA ...

anchor 09:45 16 May 05

FE: Have a look at this review:

click here

Forum Editor 23:39 17 May 05

That review has certainly raised my interest level somewhat, anchor.

The HX4700 does support rotating to landscape, Kate - you do it by holding down the calendar button apparently. I'm intrigued to see what a DVD looks like on this device, although I suspect I'll need to buy some extra storage....hardly a problem when I'm getting the device for nothing.

I'll report back on which cliche comes closest - I hope it's the second one.

ton 01:14 18 May 05

One of the great thing about the HX4700 (and my 2210) is that they can use two flash cards at the same time (SD & CF).