Help with buying Freeview box

colin1951uk 12:24 04 Feb 09

As a complete newbie to digital tv I need some help in choosing a good quality Freeview box as I'm being forced to switch early to digital which I'm very unhappy about.

My area..Meridian..is the last one to make the digital switch over in 2012. However last Sunday an announcement was made to the effect that analogue Channel 5 transmissions would cease as of March and the station would only be available on digital as of then. The remaining four channels would continue in analogue untill 2012 as originaly set out.

The whole idea is nuts to me and I'm going to try and find out why only 5 is being stopped but I'll probably get fobbed off by a hundred and one excuses..I'll see.

I particularly like Five so I've got no choice but to switch to digital now and I'm getting headaches about choosing the right way to go about it at such short notice.

I don't want paid tv as five main channels is plenty for me and on looking at Freesat they don't do Fiver (a branch of 5) which is something that that would interest me. They may do it in the future but as Freeview do it now I think they are the way for me to go as of now.

I've checked my post code out for Freeview and it tells me I should get everything available as is so hopefully I won't need an aerial upgrade and will just need the set top box.

Being a newbie I know nothing about the boxes so I need some advice on what to look for.

Looking at what Argos and Comet etc do I see a lot of stuff at cheap prices and that worries me because I'm one of those people who thinks you only get what you pay for.

Which online seem to have a buyers guide to boxes but I would need to take out a subs with them to get at it which puts me off so I'm not going down that route.