fine details of hosting packages-help!!

turkeylurkey 19:06 29 Jan 03

hello I'm looking for a host for my site and have narrowed it down to BT, OneandOne and lcn.biz (low cost names). lcn.biz is the cheapest but has anyone here had any dealings with them?
also, what's the difference between NT,Linux and Unix hosting? does it matter?

does it matter how many sub domains/webspace/traffic a host lets you have? realistically, I'm not expecting to be the next dotcom millionaire! the folder with all the files for my site weighs in at 1Mb on 21 pages (so far).

I'm new to this and could do with some advice.

thankyou

Forum Editor 00:03 30 Jan 03

1. Reliability - you want to be sure that your site will be online all day, every day.

2. Versatility - you may want to try out Microsoft FrontPage at some point (it's an excellent aplication, and increasingly popular), and this will mean that you will want your host to install FrontPage extensions on the server. It's easy to do, and the extensions are free, but some hosts make heavy weather of it. Find out in advance.

3. Approachability - can you talk to a human being, or does the host avoid personal contact? Some very cheap hosting companies provide email support only, and it can be very frustrating to wait days for the answer to a technical question.

Make sure that there are no unduly restrictive bandwidth limits - what's the point of launching the new 'Friends reunited' and attracting a million visitors a week if your web host limits your file transfer to 500Mb a month? Additional bandwidth charges can be crippling, so find out before you commit.

Don't worry too much about the differences between the various server types - they'll all run your site quite happily - but do make sure that the host makes adequate security arrangements. You don't want to be hosted on a machine that runs unattended in an unlocked boxroom for weeks on end.