faulty asus laptop from pc world

sheilahobley 01:11 29 May 09

Just over a year ago I went to local PC world to purchase a new desktop as ours had crashed and burned! Somehow i was talked into purchasing a laptop (asus X53S series). I told the assistant that our pc was used for gaming and online browser games and was switched on 24/7 almost. She assured me that the asus was a great gaming computer and more than powerful enough for our needs. Whilst i was there i was also talked into a new wireless printer (lexmark x4580) and a mobile wireless dongle thing that i have never used! I honestly thought i had to have one to use the laptop..I am not too technical a person, so I took a two year contract with vodafone(no freebies).
The laptop started switching itself off after about 6 months. At first this was random and I thought it was saving electricity and going into something like a sleep mode. Then it started doing it when I was in the middle of college work. It doesnt shut down properly..it just switches off suddenly and then won't switch back on and gives me messages like crash memory dump.
Just before the laptop was a year old, I contacted pc world to tell them there was a problem. They told me to send the laptop away for repair under the guarantee which I did. Pc world told me that the laptop was overheating and switching off to save the hardware. This made sense as the laptop was very noisy even when it was sitting idle and it was extremely hot(we did have a cooling fan and tray).
I sent laptop away with courier and a week later received it back.."returned as received - no problem" written on the receipt by repair team.