Epson C62 and other Epson Printers

Rob1n 09:49 10 Feb 04

Has anyone had problems with the cartridge clips on the Epson Stylus C62, or the Photo 830 or the photo 935?
They all have the same plastic clip and it breaks at the bottom of the latch on the front.
Epson tell me they don't get many broken and refused to replace it under warranty.
I found 2 out of ten on display in retailers broken.
Anyone else had them break?
Rob

The Spires 11:19 10 Feb 04

Is the hinged part that you lift to replace the cartidge broken or the botton molding that does not move?

Sir Radfordin 11:25 10 Feb 04

I've not seen one break on a C60, C40, C42 or on 30+ C70s. You sure you aren't being a little bit forceful?

Rob1n 12:42 10 Feb 04

It is the hinged part,the problem in this case was a non technical female who tried to insert the cartridge back to front.
Being an aircraft engineer myself I believe in Murphy's Law, if it possible to fit something incorrectly someone will do it. For that reason aircraft spares are designed so they can only fit one way.
The above aside that does not explain the 2 I found on display at Dixons and Comet.
I have obtained a replacement, but my reason for posting was just to find out if anyone else had had the problem and how many.
So I will leave this thread open for a while to see if there any responses.

AdventCalendar 13:20 10 Feb 04

Never had that to be honest mate, but on my new Epson Cx3200 ive found that im having a number of problems...anyone ever experienced any on this model?

Namely with paper feed, quality, alignment.

AC

Sir Radfordin 15:13 10 Feb 04

Ah the trick of getting ink in a printer. Recently spent 10 mins trying to fit ink to an HP printer...couldn't work out why it didn't seem to fit. Had I read the instructions would have been ok...forgot to power it on first!

I'd have said you could force anything to fit on many of todays things - imagine how much they would cost if they were as well designed as an aircraft is!