ebay - This time next year i'll be a millionaire

powerless 20:16 26 Jun 04

This is nothing new but damn it is exciting.

Lets say I purchased 10 CD-Rewriters @ £40 each [maybe less if i find a supplier that does bulk]

Put each one on ebay for a reserve price of £35

If i'm Lucky each one goes for £50

So I spent £400

£500 back / £100 profit.

Qestion: The tax man would be OK with this wouldn't he?

I'm mean it is not a business is it? [me selling]

Oh and i've never used ebay before!

Totally-braindead 20:35 26 Jun 04

I hope that was a hypothetical price as you can get a branded CD writer for less than £30 from any of the suppliers I use. Regarding the Tax man I'm not sure. If you're setting up as a bona fide business then I would say you would have to set up for tax, if however you're selling the odd few items then I would say no. But I wouldn't take my word for it as I'm not a tax expert, but I'm sure someone on the forum is. If it was that easy to become a millionaire then I think we would all be doing it.

powerless 20:38 26 Jun 04

Price as an example.

Totally-braindead 20:44 26 Jun 04

Think about this though Powerless, if you bought them at that price and did actually manage to sell them but only got the £35 reserve then it would have cost £400, you would have made £350, result loss of £50 plus you Ebay listing fees which costs more if you put a reserve on it I think.

powerless 20:47 26 Jun 04

Well i was thinking positive you see.

But you just saved me a few.

carver 22:04 26 Jun 04

One other thing to bear in mind, you order the items, wait a week for them to arrive, place them on Ebay, a further weeks wait and by this time they are obsolete items and you can buy a DVD rewriter cheaper

spuds 23:03 26 Jun 04

Many have tried..Some have failed (;O(

Forum Editor 23:12 26 Jun 04