downloading music

tanzanite 17:15 31 May 03

i am fairly new to computers and am interested in downloading music,I was wondering where i could get info either in a book or on the web.

Djohn 17:32 31 May 03

It's a little difficult for anyone to advise you on this issue, as the downloading of music, (If it is protected by Copyright)is illegal.

Most music especially the popular tracks that most people are interested in, are copyright.

If you still decide to to download music, you will need a special program to do this, and unfortunately the programs available also bring with them all types of problems.

Virus and spy-ware are just two of these, and may cause untold damage to your files and programs already installed. Regards. J.

yid61 17:40 31 May 03

There are two that I've use Kazaa and imesh. Personally I prefer imesh. Djohn is right though, they bring alot of 'extras' with them but its easy to get rid of most of them and it's worth the little bit of hassle if you're into your music. Not that I'd ever download copyrighted music for free though!

leo49 18:15 31 May 03

"If you still decide to to download music, you will need a special program to do this"

I'm afraid that's simply not true,Djohn.

Regards

jazzypop 18:19 31 May 03

Contrary to a large body of opinion that has often been expressed on this site in the past, there are plenty of ways to legally download music from the Web - click here for a starting point

See also click here to be able to listen to streaming music, without necessarily downloading it.

Djohn 18:24 31 May 03

Well, don't keep me guessing! :o)

leo49 19:11 31 May 03

What concerns me is that every time this subject comes up it's presented as a 'given fact' that music can only be downloaded via these P2P progs.The novice/newcomer if he chooses the Devil then installs one of these nasty little programs - because he's been led to believe that there's no alternative - and the ensuing grief is regularly in evidence in the Helproom.