Do I Have to Pay to Return a Faulty Item??

JayDay 13:24 12 Feb 05

I think the title says it all. I got my daughter a digital camera for Xmas. I copied the images onto my PC recently and noticed all the images were blurred. Closer examination revealed the lens was loose and seemed to be floating about inside the camera.

I contacted the supplier who asked me to return it to them recorded delivery at my expense.

Is this normal? Surely if the item is faulty then they should foot the bill for postage. I didn't want to argue the point until I knew where I stood.

Anyone know enough about Consumer Law to assist?

Totally-braindead 13:50 12 Feb 05

I think the problem you will have is proving it was faulty when you got it, it was nearly 2 months ago. Perhaps it was faulty when you got it, if so then I would imagine that they should be liable for the postage, but I'm not an expert in consumer law, but after 2 months I think theres no chance of proving that. I'd just pay to return it it would be a lot easier.

Stuartli 14:35 12 Feb 05

It depends on the company involved. Some provide a collection service and others require you to return it at your expense initially and refund the cost.

I had a similar problem with my Minolta E203 Dimage digital camera, when the lens began to refuse to retract when the camera was closed down when I had had it for about three months.

Minolta arranged to collect the camera for repair but rang me to state it had been decided to replace it with a new one. Delivery was due next day.

However, the same lady who had originally rang me called again to say that delivery would be a day later than expected as the replacement had to be obtained from another warehouse.

She added that she did not want me to wait in unnecessarily for the intended delivery day.

First class service and the replacement E203 is still working as it should two years later.

Stuartli 14:38 12 Feb 05

..replace it with a new one.