Digital Camera/Photo Quality Question

Sibbo 19:19 04 Oct 05

I currently own a Canon Digital Ixus 400 Camera (4 Megapixel)which produces fantastic quality photo's up to A4 size. My question is this. If I upgraded to the Digital IXUS 750 would it produce better quality A4 prints? I know the Ixus 750 can produce photo's up to A3 size but I was wondering about the smaller prints. TIA

Totally-braindead 19:46 04 Oct 05

I am not a camera expert but I would have thought that the larger photos A4 or A3 you would definatly see the difference but with the smaller prints you wouldn't. Have a look here and see if the cameras are listed click here or perhaps they may be more info here click here

hzhzhz 19:55 04 Oct 05

canon ixus 750 or sd550 as its also known by is 7.1mp camera. Probably wont notice huge difference in small pics. I think 750 is fully automatic but does take good prints. Much better to upgrade to powershot a95 or similar where you can be in control of shutter/aperture etc. Thats if you want to of course.

Stuartli 20:04 04 Oct 05

Most people's digital photographs come into being from a .jpeg file.

I recently downloaded a big TIFF wedding photo file from my 2MB Minolta digital camera's onto CD-R, plus the .jpeg alternative, and took both to Max Spielmann for each to be printed on 10x8 paper.

Both files were sent from the shop direct to its Leeds processing centre and the prints came back a day or so later.

There was no discernable difference between them.

tamc98 21:13 04 Oct 05

Sibbo,

The easy answer is yes. You will get a better picture from the higher res' model. The easiest why to find out how much better would be to download sample images from both cameras and print them off. Assuming you have a photo printer you can download them from here; click here and here; click here.

HTH, Tony

Ancient Learner 21:18 04 Oct 05

I now own a Olympus C7070 7Megapixal camera. My first digital after many years with an Olympus 2n top of the range film SLR.