Digital Camera Repair- have you had one?

jack 13:57 13 May 07

I am simply collecting information on the repairability of this new must have.
If you have had an out of warranty repair carried out would please post the detail- here.

spuds 16:03 13 May 07

Not so much an out of warranty but very nearly. Had problems with a Kodak DX3700. Kodak arranged for DHL to collect and package, and send to Belgium. Repaired and returned within a week, at no cost to me. Even gave me extra batteries, and updated driver cd for free.

setecio 16:12 13 May 07

I would push where I bought it from and the manufacturers, but if I hit dead end and it was out of warranty, it would into the bin like most electronic items these days. Repair would probably come close to price of a new one. But luckily I've no experience of it.

Diemmess 17:14 13 May 07

Ironic isn't it Jack, since you were one of those that contributed to click here
That was my second Olympus camera that had been sent for repair.
The first was current production and took (only!!) a month via Jessops.

Diemmess 17:22 13 May 07

The first repair was outside warranty and I had after all dropped it from a high table to a hard floor!

The second, was some unprovoked internal switching thing, out of warranty yet a fine compact digital also out of production.
Repair costs seems to standardise at least 40% replacement charge, i.e. it may be easier for the outfit to replace your camera at cost price to them.

leo49 17:46 13 May 07

I took my Fuji into Jessop's as the sprung pin holding one end of the strap in a moulded housing on the camera had gone missing.I was told that all Fuji repairs had to be sent away whatever the fault and there was a fixed cost per model.Even though the camera was only 2 years old[I know that's ancient these days],it no longer existed in their tariff menu but a repair to an equivalent fuji model would be a fixed £138.The small pin can only actually cost 1p! The camera remains strapless,needless to say.