Desktop or Laptop?

retro_hood 01:09 25 Jul 09

I am needing some advice and help in purchasing a laptop/Desktop.

Im not sure on a budget but lets just say under £1000.

Reconmendations for either Laptops or Desktop(not including monitor) are welcome.

I am looking for a nice Graphics Card to handle up-to-date games such as Dawn of War or HON .I don't mind turning down the settings however. I am a computing student so I need to be able to run alot of demanding software such as Microsoft Visual Studio.

An included Blu-Ray disk drive would be nice but not neccesary.

I tend to multitask alot. Have various applications open at several times. Browsers, MSN messenger,Skype and other software applications. I tend to minimize in and out of fullscreen applications alot and hate the wait.

Free upgrade to Windows 7 also needed.

Size of HDD is not a real concern as i have enough external HDD to save stuff.

I'm here asking for help because I dont know a huge ammount about Hardware and I have bought my last desktop and Laptop from PC World & Comet and I don't feel I am getting my monies worth.

Reconmendations for reliable & trustworthy websites/shops are welcome.

Cheers in advance.

rdave13 01:50 25 Jul 09

Trawl this site; good recommendations from other forum members.
click here
Cougar Extreme. See what would apply to your needs. Laptops are difficult to upgrade, Desktops easier and better to understand the 'innards' of a PC's workings.

skidzy 06:50 25 Jul 09

Rdave has pointed you to Cougar who are recommended for building powerful machines at a fair price...so there is your starting point.

Laptop or Desktop
Well if convenient,it has to be a desktop...you will get a lot more powerful machine for your money.
For example,if you spend ,lets say £800 on a desktop...chances are if you found a laptop with something near the desktop spec...it would cost you £1500 ish if not more,realistically over £2000.

Something for starters
click here