Dell - any comments on value?

Diodorus Siculus 17:47 19 Dec 04

A friend is looking for a good value laptop for uni - mostly internet and office applications, but also occasional DVDs.

Can anyone comment on any of these for value and suitability please?

click here

click here

click here

click here

click here

Further, what does this mean?

[quote]Operating System: English - Win XP SP2 Home (No Media) [/quote]

The No media bit, I mean? Does the machine come with a recovery partition?

Finally, is there anything obviously missing? It seems to me to be very good value.

Stuartli 17:56 19 Dec 04

Dell has always been renowned for supplying right up to date systems using very high quality components - much of the reason for its quality standards was/is due to its massive buying power.

However, it could be that its laptops are actually rebadged models to its own specifications from companies such as Acer; however, I've no definite knowledge in Dell's case, although most laptops sold are rebadged by the big brand names.

Vague Boy 18:06 19 Dec 04

Look at the prices for adding extra memory, bigger hard drives, upgrading optical drives etc.

A bit steep I'd say!

Diodorus Siculus 18:14 19 Dec 04

Stuartli - I will have to find that out; I presumed that they were all Dell machines.

Vague Boy - upgrading will not be a problem for me - if they come with 40GB hdd and 512mb RAM, that will be more than enough.

Any comments on "no media"? does it come with a recovery method of some sort?

Diodorus Siculus 18:15 19 Dec 04

The links seem to have expired :-(

961 19:23 19 Dec 04

No media means you won't get the disk

However I seem to remember that most Dell recovery disks do actually include the operating system Perhaps someone who has just bought a laptop from them can advise, or FE may know