Copyright and Related Rights Regulations 2003

TOPCAT® 16:47 20 Feb 04

On page 96 - 'File sharing and the law', issue 105 (April 2004) of the PCA magazine - a Joanne Brook, of the legal firm Manches, outlines her interpretation of these Regulations.

Speaking about downloading music files from peer-to-peer sites she states, under the sub-heading 'How tough is the law?': "The regulation was drafted to close particular loopholes. If I downloaded my Abba album to my iPod, I doubt I'd legally have a issue as I own the original album. But if I then shared the iPod files with others, over the Internet or directly, that would be an issue."

Is she right on this? A concensus of opinion in these forums seems to be that NO copyrighted music can be legally downloaded, unless paid for on appropriate sites, irrespective of whether you own the same music CD or not.

Any enlightening thoughts on this please? Thanks. TC.

Forum Editor 17:36 20 Feb 04

My own view - and I'm not a lawyer - is that technically the illegal act occurs when you download the file, regardless of whether you already have a legitimately purchased copy. By downloading the file you commit a breach of the copyright law - you are taking something that is protected, and you aren't paying a copyright licence fee.

It may well end up being the same as if you had made a copy of the CD you already have, but that isn't the point..............or is it?

One of the tests that I've heard applied is this:

If, by making a copy of a CD you already own you are depriving the copyright holder of a licence fee, then yes, you are committing a breach. On the other hand, if your act of copying is simply to provide a spare copy for your archive - in case something goes wrong with the original, then you aren't depriving the owner of a copyright fee, because if you didn't have copying facilities you probably wouldn't go and buy a second copy. You would simply make do with the CD you already have.