can't decide which sat nav to buy?

DJfree33 18:49 03 Oct 06

I am new to the sat Nav world and have got lost in the jungle of choices,

i have around £200 to spend, and only really need UK mapping.

i have been looking at the Garmin nuvi 300 and the TomTom ONE V2 Great Britain.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Phphred 19:08 03 Oct 06

Tom Tom, and in my opinion you will not regret buying it as it is the best thing for a car driver in any unfamiliar place.

NoIdea21 20:38 03 Oct 06

Tom Tom

siouxah1 20:42 03 Oct 06

DJfree33,
Have only used the Tom Tom One. Excellant piece of kit that even I can use. Was sceptical about sat nav untill I had the One demonstrated to me. Beats map reading in my opinion.

(Before anyone says that a map is just as good, I have been well versed in the use of maps over the years. Wish I had had a sat nave in the past.)

Brian

dukeboxhero 20:53 03 Oct 06

i use the tom tom one daily in my job works a treat

atc 21:00 03 Oct 06

i had a navman before it went faulty. got it replaced with a tomtom and this is far better than the navman.

Confab 21:04 03 Oct 06

If you can afford it then go for the TomTom 510. It's got a bigger screen and I certainly recommend it.

click here

Confab

namtas 21:39 03 Oct 06

I recently purchased the Garmin Nuvi 300 and it works brilliantly, I have no problems at all does everything I want it has already in a few weeks been a major asset. easy to set up, easy to read, goood menus, and very accurate.

I found it at £215 from the web site of the well known car accessory and cycle supply store

Dizzy Bob 22:21 03 Oct 06

Tomtom definately.

TT 1 v2 @ around £199 retail

PCW have the TT510 on line at £292 (retail £349) but you can use the collect at store option to get the on line price in a store.

DB

DJfree33 19:29 04 Oct 06

i phoned a sat nav company who told me that tomtom suffer with a lot of problems? and customer advice support was not very good?