Buying Computers

onokeck 23:51 27 Nov 04

Straight off the bat - I AM NOT complaining! I have just bought a lovely AMD 64 3200 from JAL Computers (never heard of them eh? Check all the latest reviews in the top PC mags). I ordered by phone on Thursday, 16 Nov and was promised delivery on Friday, 26 Nov. It arrived at 1400 hours on 26 Nov! How great is that?? Now, while I am by no means an expert with computers (I am 70 years old and bought my first PC in 1993)I like to think that I can find my way around the old "box". My point is this - If one is not familiar with the workings of a pc and it's associated hardware & software do not buy from a quality builder such as JAL- they are not sent to you as an "unpack & play system". There is one hell of a lot of software loading and "preening" to be done before you can really get down to business. You certainly do not get a fancy instruction booklet that tells you to "connect green to green & pink to pink." If a buyer does not have the time or knowledge to dive in for themselves I suggest they stick with the outfits that offer the "box to play" systems. I am happy with my purchase and have loaded everything up and am happily doing my "thing" with a good on-site warranty and tech support. I will cetainly keep you posted on the performance of my JAL. I will (hopefully) tell you that I have had no problems and those I did have were dealt with promptly. We will see. I would love to be able to promote a company that could seriously dent the market of Mesh,Dell, et al. Casey

GANDALF <|:-)> 01:28 28 Nov 04

'I would love to be able to promote a company that could seriously dent the market of Mesh,Dell, et al.'...ahhh! the ubiquitous, stunning British support of companies that do well.

G

onokeck 08:53 28 Nov 04

My Dear Gandalf,