Best way to store and play audio CD from a PC

Housebuilder 01:23 22 Aug 04

I have a healthy collection of CDs but as they now take up an entire wall I want to store them electronically and be able to create playlists. Any ideas on the best way to do this? Best PC for this? Best supplier? I'd connect it to a pretty good NAD amp and my audio speakers are B&W 603s so they'd make up for some possible shortfall in quality because of playing from a PC rather than a dedicated CD player but it seems there are thousands of options and I'm lost already. I'm completely new to electronic music storage so please answer in simple terms!!

GANDALF <|:-)> 09:51 22 Aug 04

You do not need a powerful computer (£599 job from PCW will be more than enough) but an external HD is a good idea as it keeps the songs safe. Copy using Windows Media Player (>2 mins per CD)and store the songs on the HD. WMP will then get the track titles and album cover so you do not have to mess about will need an internet connection but the service is free. I have over 200 CDs on my external HD and there are only 3 compilations that WMP has failed to get the track names . You can use Windows Media Player to sort out your songlists as well, it is triple easy and the player is free.

You will hear the anoraks stating that you can tell the difference but I use Celef studio monitors connected to Naim pre and power and I cannot tell the difference between CDs and the ones from the there!

Stuartli 09:52 22 Aug 04

You can record them to the HDD using Windows Media Player9 and create playlists, but it will take up a lot of capacity unless you compress the files.

If you have WMP9, go to Tools>Options>Copy Music tab. The files would be saved in My Documents>My Music by default unless you select another path and destination.

Quality can be adjusted with the slider.

Stuartli 09:57 22 Aug 04

As GANDALF <|:-)> rightly points out, getting the playlists is simple via the Internet route.