Best quiet, reliable Power Supply Unit ?

The Aardvark 23:11 06 Nov 05

I have an Evesham 2800 pc, which I've been running for about 2 years with no real problems - the only issue I have is that it's LOUD. The PSU develops so much noise it's really annoying. I've contacted Evesham to see if they supply a quieter PSU and their reply was 'sorry - it's just a noisy unit'. So I've decided to take matters in hand and change the PSU.

Could anyone recommend a PSU - my PC is a standard tower unit so I'm looking for around 400w. Naturally I'm looking for the quietest unit possible, but build quality and reliability are also very important. From my own research I've seen good reviews on Akasa, Q Technology, Zalman, Antec and Tagan units - are any of these really any good and do any offer genuine quiet funtionality as they all claim ?

Finally, if anyone could point me in the direction of an easy to follow step by step guide to replacing a PSU I'd be very grateful.

Thanks

Trackrat 23:33 06 Nov 05

I use an Antec truepower 450watt which is extremley quiet. it is also modular so you only fit the cables you need, but it is not cheap.
instructions click here

Stuartli 13:10 07 Nov 05

Enermax is another quality PSU manufacturer.

Replacing a PSU is pretty straightforward -it's the mass of wires that's daunting at first.

But if you note where the old ones went it soon becomes obvious where to use the new ones.

You may need to retain the backing plate from the old PSU to allow the installation of the new one.

You may also have to take a little more care re routing of the wire loom to maximise air flow as, at least in my recent case, latest ATX PSUs seem to be a little longer and therefore take up more case space.

Mr Beeline 22:14 07 Nov 05

I fitted a Tagan modular PSU a couple of weeks ago and can vouch that it's pretty quiet. Like a number of PSU's these days, it has an intelligent (!) fan that only runs as fast as it needs to (based on the temperature I assume).