bare esentials advice needed please,what to buy?

etheric 11:26 03 Mar 06

hi. I really need somebody's help. I have very little knowledge of computers.

Basically i want a computer, preferably laptop, but a desktop would be fine. What i want to use it for is to just go online, to get photos from a digital camera online and basic word processing. Maybe at some point i will want to download music. So the bare essentials, really.

Obviously, i want to spend as little as possible.

Can anyone help", recommend something?

thankyou. :)

Diodorus Siculus 12:10 03 Mar 06

When people ask to [quote]spend as little as possible[/quote] I usually direct them to Dell. But if your knowledge is low, Dell are not always the best option.

I buy most PC bits and pieces from click here including my current laptop and most of my current PC. Their prices are good and their customer service excellent.

You will need to buy a PC with Windows - preferably XP - but otherwise, no need to buy any software. You can get excellent office applications (openoffice), image manipulation (serif, irfanview), CD burning (deepburner) software free of charge as well as all the security softare you need.

Diodorus Siculus 12:11 03 Mar 06

By the way, if you want any (or all) of those sent to you on CD, please let me know.

spuds 12:14 03 Mar 06

If you want it basic at the lowest price, then any desktop or laptop advertised in the media at the lower price range will do. A visit to somewhere like PC World should perhaps provide the answer.

Price range £299.00 to £500.00.

Diodorus Siculus 12:31 03 Mar 06

I agree with spuds' view normally but quite often these cheaper machines are not suitable for beginners. Few nowadays come with recovery disks and the purchaser is expected to make them.

When spending a few pounds more on a machine from novatech / mesh / etc, you get a better sort of recovery procedure in the event of a problem.