Aria... Serious problem!

Zytec 18:37 10 Oct 05

I've been using them for 4 years or so and a lot more recently as I've been building PC's for friends colleagues etc in my spare time.

A recent order Included a Kingston 2gb USB flash drive, which was faulty when received.

The fault description (I stated in the RMA):-

-----------------------

The Kingston 2Gb usb drive is faulty, it installs and shows as a 256GB drive, (I wish it was), and asks if I want to format it which it then says it can't do. Note I have tried it on three different computers, (all with different hardware)

------------------------

Aria have now updated my RMA status as:-

"Kingston state this is a forgery".

I like to know how to pursue this best, as the drive if really a forgery was supplied to me from Aria as such.

They haven't accused me of sending them a forgery yet, but I will be inclined to treat such an accusation extremely seriously! and will definately want to pursue it legally.

Anyone please advise on my best course of action at this point?

Forum Editor 18:50 10 Oct 05

so you can't do much, except remind the company that you purchased the drive from them. You'll have evidence of that, although it will simply prove that you purchased a drive - not that you purchased the particular drive they now have in their possession.

Let's explore the possibilities:-

1. Aria have deliberately supplied you with a forged drive.

2. They have inadvertantly supplied you with a forged drive.

3. The drive isn't forged at all - Aria are lying.

4. You're lying - you returned a forged drive that you bought somewhere else.

5. Nobody's lying - the drive isn't forged at all.

I think we can discount 1. 3. and 4. - which leaves two possibilities:-

If the drive is really forged, and Aria have inadvertantly got hold of a batch of them in some way I would expect them to have received more complaints/returns, and you could always put that to them.