Anti Virus Software

billy8 23:07 26 Jul 05

My new computer came with a 90 day trial using MacAfee Security Centre, anti virus and firewall.
It seems very efficient but they are now suggesting I pay the annual subscription which is about £45 (including a 31% discount) for Viruscan and Firewall2.

As an amateur, I would welcome advice/suggestions on a secure product for a more reasonable price or even a free download

Stuartli 23:14 26 Jul 05

There are a number of excellent free AV utilities, including AVG7 and Avast.

I used to use AVG but switched to Avast after installing it on a computer newbies's system recently because it updates automatically.

You can download and install it from: click here

When you have installed it, make sure you obtain the proper key rather than the temporary one, as it suffices for more than a year before having to be renewed (free in both cases).

It's explained on the website.

Danoh 23:23 26 Jul 05

Have you tried using the Search box for "Anti Virus" for example? There have been loads of threads which cover opinions on various free and subcription-based Anti Virus software.

AVG is a commonly recommended free A/V with ZoneAlarm's free firewall. Both are available from the Downloads section of this forum (Utilities, Anti virus and Security sections respectively).

Personally I'm using Norton Internet Security 2005 but that comes out as more than £45, except for a very few remaining deals at £25. But others are now getting better reviews which I will probably try out when my subscription runs out.

Also don’t forget to have some anti SpyWare and AdWare as extra protection. (e.g. AdAware, SpyBot, A-Squared are some free examples).

Danoh 23:24 26 Jul 05

Stuartli; snap. Did not see your post as I was still typing.

billy8 20:02 27 Jul 05

Thank you stuartli and danoh for your advice which I will act upon. I note in the current Advisor, just purchased, that they have an article recommending the same sites.

stalion 20:24 27 Jul 05