For all those with Tiscali problems

Mike D 15:26 09 Nov 05

I know it's very early days, but I have just spoken to Tiscali about cancelling my Broadband with them and they are sending me my MAC number within the next 24 hours. Apparently all I have to do then is speak to the ISP of my choice and suffer a couple of hours downtime.

Sounds too good to be true.

GaT7 15:37 09 Nov 05

Thanks for posting Mike D. Your experience will help others who may be contemplating the same - changing their BB ISP that is. Will also be interesting to know how this goes as I've never done it before myself. G

Stuartli 16:08 09 Nov 05

Have you managed this by telephoning 0845 077 4488?

Stuartli 16:12 09 Nov 05

Following on that, I've just rechecked the Upgrade/Downgrade service at Tiscali.

Since October 31st, when the infamous service "enhancement" took place, it has listed 1MB as the maximum service I can recceive even though I know it's 2MB.

Even a Tiscali engineer insisted this was the case even though I told him he was defending the indefensible as I had had an exemplary 2MB service for three months...:-)

However, I now see that I CAN get 2MB again but it has to be the 2MB unlimited at £2 a month extra or with a phone package rather than 2MB with a 2GB cap.

Stuartli 16:41 09 Nov 05

Further again. I've just been onto Tiscali to attempt to return to the status quo i.e. 2MB 2GB cap.

Surprise, surprise. I can now only have 2MB unlimited or with a phone package as listed on the Upgrade/Downgrade.

As far as I am concerned there is something very devious about the past week but, when I attempted to get a MAC code, I'm quoted the contract terms.

I've pointed out that Tiscali has substantially changed the original contract so much materially that it is no longer valid; I'll have another go when I calm down...:-)

Chegs ® 19:29 09 Nov 05