Advice needed plz regarding AMD Athlon

eg4am1 19:38 28 Mar 06

hi i just recently accidently bought a Compaq Presario SR1639UK with 17 inch lcd monitor.. i said accidently because i wasnt expecting to win it the system was up for £370 !! and i bid on it hoping that i wouldnt win, but guess what AINT I LUCKY. well long story short its an AMD ATHLON 64 3700+ and ihave no clue what so ever that if its good or not?? as i have never used AMD before. plus not that i have bought it people are saying that AMD athlon processor get heated really quickly slowing down the applications so i am reall worried. PLEASE ANSWER MY FOLLOWING QUESTIONS
1) WAS THIS A GOOD BUY (PRICE WISE)
2) SHOULD I KEEP IT OR SELL IT ?
3) ARE THESE PROCESSORS REALLY TEMPRATURE SENSITIVE ?
4) DOES ANY ONE WANT TO BUY IT ?? NAAH JUST JOKING ONLY 1ST THREE QUESTIONS ARE OF MY CONCERN.

please let me know about this
regards Asim

Stuartli 19:48 28 Mar 06

AMD CPUs do run at quite high temperatures (my Athlon XP 3200+ has a maximum figure of 85 degrees Celsius although normal operation is from about 46 to 57 degrees C).

The Bios is set to shut it off at 70 degrees C in the event of any problem with its big Gigabyte cooling fan.

Providing that you ensure that the CPU and system case is properly cooled you should need to worry about the normal operating temperature of the processor.

It sounds as though you have a good buy - enjoy it and don't worry...:-)

eg4am1 19:58 28 Mar 06

is there any way i can ad an extra fan or something to make it better ??

SG Atlantis® 20:20 28 Mar 06

I paid £830 in November for one of those and I'm typing on it right now.

Great machine and I'm getting kind of angry but more jealous of the price you got it for!!! lol.

It's a great machine.... LUCKY YOU!

My processor runs around 20C and upto 29 degrees under load. Don't belive what they are telling you about AMD temperatures, they are obvioulsy Intel "fanboys".