Acer Repairs

satchef1 16:13 25 May 06

I bought a new laptop for going to university back in September and in February i started to notice that the casing on the lid was cracking. I phoned up Acer's repair centre to report the fault and request a repair and they refused to come and pick it up with the excuse of "We can't deal with halls of residence, you need a private address." So, when I returned home at easter I sent it off for repair. 2 weeks later a bill for £100 comes through the post, I phoned them up to complain as the laptop was still in warranty and got told that the extent of the damage voided the warranty.
I gave in and payed the bill because i really needed the laptop back quickly (Im studying Computer Science had 3 coursework deadlines looming + exams.) At this point I was told the repair would take 2 weeks. After not hearing from them at the end of that 2 weeks i phone them up to ask when the laptop would be returned and was told they were still waiting on parts (another week!). So again, i phone them up to ask when theyre delivering it, and got told it was being repaired that day and should be with me by the end of last week (19/5). Last Friday i gave them a phone to ask where it was and got told that they had forgotten to order a part and that it will be another 2 weeks!

Has anyone else had a similar problem with Acer? Anything I can do about it, other than never buying an Acer product again (and wishing i hadnt in the first place)?

Forum Editor 20:26 25 May 06

of bad customer service over the years, but an admission that after an already considerable delay a company "had forgotten to order a part" is both disarmingly frank and disgracefully inefficient.