Acer Aspire 5051 AWXMi - Short review, part 1.

LastChip 21:05 01 Jul 07

I have just bought this laptop for £299.99p click here so clearly we are looking at the entry level market.

The machine is well presented, having a 14.1" wide-screen, that is clear and of good colour. It's slimline case is nicely finished in silver and black to a high standard, but the catch is flimsy. Provided it is treated with respect, will probably last longer than I think. I find the keyboard nice, but I'm not a professional typist, so others may disagree.

Inside sports an AMD 64 Turon mobile CPU (2GHz) with 512MB of RAM and a 60GB hard drive. Included is a multi card reader, capable of reading; MS, MS Pro, MMC, SD and XD. An ATI Radion Xpress 1100 takes care of the graphics and also provided are VGA and Svideo ports. Fixed and wireless network capability is included as well as a DVD double layer drive. There are a total of three USB ports and one PC card type ll slot. A built in modem and sound card plus microphone, line in and headphone sockets completes the line-up.

So what is it like? Read that in part 2.

LastChip 22:28 01 Jul 07

So, what's it like?

Well, the laptop comes preloaded with Vista Home Basic and a whole host of junk from Acer, including the dreaded Norton anti-virus software. I suppose, although I moan about all the junk, it presumably provides subsidies that help keep prices to this level.

Sadly (although expected) Vista runs like glue! IMHO, manufacturers really shouldn't be releasing computers with Vista that have only 512MB of RAM. Yes, it runs and we all know it looks pretty, but it would be quicker to paint the front room than write a letter. (There is however a good package deal with this computer to upgrade the RAM).

However, my stated intention was to evaluate the feasibility of Linux on a laptop, so with this in mind, the option was clear; get rid of Vista!