£1000 budget - which notebook ?

Taran 17:02 10 Nov 04

OK, OK, I know, this one has been done to death but....

A close friend has saved up and wants to buy her first notebook to replace a desktop machine that has gone bang. It was four months old, built by a local shop that has since gone the same way the computer did.

I've made my own suggestions for a few models and manufacturers, which she has taken on board, but I know what a resourceful lot frequent this forum, and so...

She has all the application software she needs (bought for the desktop machine that is no more) and wants to spend not a penny more than £1000 on a notebook, which is to include delivery.

Dedicated graphics are a must, since she does a lot of graphics editing (graphics designer by trade, getting back into work after a few years absence, post-divorce, kids, dog, you get the idea).

She also needs plenty of memory, a reasonably fast processor (type largely irrelevant) and a fairly large screen. A backup drive of some description would be useful, it won't be used only on battery or moved very often, but it will be relied upon quite heavily and so a long/extended warranty would be a big plus to her, especially after her recent experience with the desktop.

She has no preference for a particular brand; looks are not a factor but performance is.

If I can, I'll try to arrange an evening where she can use one of my systems and she can join and post to the forum herself, instead of me running around after her ;o)

Your mission, should you choose to accept it...

Any ideas ?

Best regards, and thanks in advance for any input.

Taran

xetnauq 18:31 10 Nov 04

Check out Aldi. They have a Gericom (German make) Centrino 1.7Ghz with ATI 9700 graphics for £999

Sir Radfordin 19:11 10 Nov 04