Writing Macros in Word

Gary 16:36 06 Jan 04

Can anyone help to to write a macro for MS Word to do the following?

I am a student and frequently write essays in Word. Most of the work I do has a word limit, so I use the word count feature regularly. However, quotations and citation references within the essay are not included in the limit.

I use the following method to get around this.
• Whenever I type something not included in the word limit, I put it in blue type.
• To count the words, I first to Find... and set, under More Options, the criterion that the font should be black.
• I then select the "Find all in Main Document" tickbox and click find. This highlights all the text I want to include in the word count.
• I can then run the word count feature as usual, but only the selected (i.e. non-quote) words are counted.

This works fine, except it's a bit long winded when I have to do it regularly. What I want therefore, is a macro which can:
• use the find tool to select all the black text (regardless of what font it's in or whether it's bold or italic etc).
• Run the word count feature and display the count summary.
• Stop once the summary is displayed so that I can read it and then click the close button on it's window once I have finished with it.

I have tried to do this using the Macro recording function several times, but without success. Two problems seem to occur when I try. Firstly, I can't click the Find button on the Find dialog box after setting the criterion to be black text because the macro recording is in operation. Secondly, when I click the word count option the summary is displayed, but then, with this as the active window, I am unable to click the stop button on the Macro recording toolbar and must close the window before this is possible, rendering the macro useless!