Wireless Network + PC + Mac = Possible

dave_and_confused 13:35 03 May 05

I have a Windows XP PC connected to a Telewest Cable Broadband modem.

My step-daughter told me last week she was getting a Laptop from work so she can do more work at home. We discussed the options and wireless seemed to be the best way.

However.... when the laptop came home it was a Mac. According to NetGear who provide the wireless kit for Telewest Macs are not supported for wireless broadband on Telewest (fortunately we didn't buy the kit yet).

Is this true and is there a way round it? (ie can we have a PC and a Mac connected to the same broadband connection?)

mgmcc 14:58 03 May 05

Although I have no experience of Macs, I'm quite sure it is possible to connect wirelessly to a router with one and therefore to Telewest. Mac-compatible hardware must conform to the industry standard protocols for wireless networking, 802.11b and 802.11g, and use the same TCP/IP protocols for interent access.

It is possible that Telewest don't offer technical support to set it up, but that doesn't mean that it cannot be done. I recently bought a Buffalo Air Station G54 wireless router (under £50) which I am using with Telewest cable, connecting with Windows ("wirelessly" and "wired") and with SuSE Linux ("wired").

You can probably pick up a suitable wireless router more cheaply yourself than getting one from Telewest - just be sure to get one that DOESN'T have a built-in ADSL modem as those are only suitable for use with ADSL connections.

dave_and_confused 15:16 03 May 05

So if i got a Buffalo Air Station G54 wireless router and got a wireless card or USB thingy for the Mac I can connect the cable modem to the router and then run a cable to the PC and connect the Mac using the USB thingy.

(and a second USB thingy would enable my other PC to connect too?)

Aer these routers easy to setup and administer (esp securing it?)

dave_and_confused 15:28 03 May 05