which digital macro camera

edennorman 09:10 07 Jan 08

Hello

The Kodak DX6440 which I have been using for the last two years without a problem is now starting to show a variety of problems intermittently.

I use my camera for macro work a lot.

I have heard that the Olympus stylus has a good pedigree?

Thank you

Eden

anchor 10:35 07 Jan 08

I see that your camera takes macro down to 10cm in wide angle.

click here

Would you need/like to get even closer?.

Can you give us an idea of your budget; there are so many good ones on the market.

edennorman 13:21 07 Jan 08

Thank you for your response.

I do not need to get closer, what is included in the spec for the DX6440 is quite enough for my uses.

I am wondering if to drift away from Kodak, as I approached the PC from scratch I went towards names I recognized.

Looking at my purchase I see I am over the 2 year warranty...not much over.

The reason I thought about the Olympus Stylus range was that the range in question has been in production for several years I believe.

The DX6440 was not a cheap camera when I bought it.

I was hoping to pay somewhere in the region of £150.00

Thank you for any further comment.

Regards

Eden

amonra 13:33 07 Jan 08

Canon IXUS 70 goes down to 10cm, price on Amazon about £130 ?

edennorman 13:42 07 Jan 08

Thank you but still looking at a comment of the Olympus range?

Thank you though.

Eden

Diemmess 19:35 07 Jan 08

Your brand loyalty, and modest requirements still leave the choice list wide open.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Like you I developed a brand loyalty after an introduction to digital cameras with a Kodak (DC 210)? This was primitive and ate batteries!

I went ito a brach of Jessops which in those days was still doing well with conventional 35mm SLRs but had a member of staff who knew enough to help me choose an Olympus C900.

This was a great little camera but soon meant I wanted something with more....
My wife has it as hers now and it still works well.