Vibration from a Washing Machine

wee eddie 16:27 03 Jan 12
Answered

I live in a First Floor Flat in a Converted House, so the Inter-floor Sound Insulation is not brilliant.

I have just purchased a Washing Machine and am worried that my Neighbours, below, are going to be put-out by the vibration/noise it makes.

The question: Has anyone had any relevant experience/advice on the range of Anti Vibration Mats currently available, or of suitable (cheaper) substitutes.

proudfoot 16:35 03 Jan 12

I have no experience of Anti-vibration mats. Make sure the machine does not wobble when it is rocked by adjusting the feet. If possible place a sheet of lead similar to that used for flashings or roofs on buildings under the machine, this will help to reduce noise transmission.

pabby 16:44 03 Jan 12

Our washing machine fits under the worktop and vibrated badly. I wedged a thick newspaper betweeen counter and washing machine, result no vibration in the last 2 years.

pabby 16:45 03 Jan 12

Should read a rolled up newspaper.

WhiteTruckMan 16:52 03 Jan 12

Assuming it's a front loader (horizontal spin axis) then there's little you can do to even the load out by distributing it around the drum (as you could do with a top loader). The vibration is of course caused by the rapid spinning of an unbalanced load. 2 things you can do however. 1 wash smaller (lighter) loads, and/or 2 use a slower spin cycle.

WTM

wiz-king 17:59 03 Jan 12

I had complaints from the hose next door about vibrations from my air compressor, I cured the problem by putting several layers of rubber car mats under the machine. (The ribbed ones not the pimple type.)

morddwyd 18:02 03 Jan 12

I jam a sponge rather than a rolled up newspaper down the side.

We now don't even hear it at 1200rpm in even in our own bedroom.

Aitchbee 18:27 03 Jan 12