Most dangerous machine you have used?

def90csw 10:21 22 Oct 06

Was thinking about this the other day when being shown a demo of a new wood/branch chipper that a friend is buying for his forestry company. I used to use chainsaws when in productive forestry, but that was a few years ago now.

thms 11:04 22 Oct 06

AS an engineer I have worked with machinery for over 30 years and have found that the only dangerous thing about machinery is usually the person using it.

Moving parts seem to have a hypnotic effect on people and they tend to want to stick there hands into it for some reason.

When I was younger and health and safety wasn't such a big issue there was a lathe with a large job in it and the operator put it into high speed by mistake and the job shot out hit the roof and mangle a couple of benches. Nobody was hurt but I think the guy had to go home and change his trousers.

hzhzhzhz 11:08 22 Oct 06

I have used lots of large and small machinery over the past 35 years,all potentially dangerous but after witnessing an accident close up, I would say that one of the most awful pieces of equipment would be a chainsaw without a chain brake. I hope none of you are still using one.If you are,get rid of it before it leaves a long jagged cut down your face.

def90csw 11:17 22 Oct 06

Would NEVER use a chainsaw without chain brake guard. In fact even if i'm cutting up a few logs i kit up into full chainsaw protection trousers, smock, combi hat & mits.

As a lecturer at college said years ago, you cut you hand off it will not grow again!!

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 11:38 22 Oct 06

I teach people to repair and use a lot of machinery but these things frighten me to death.

click here

must be my age wouldn't have bothered me 10 or so years ago.

:0)

Spark6 11:45 22 Oct 06

*machine* I have used, but how about the ladder!

I have lost count of the number of accidents, some fatal, others quite serious, due to the inappropriate use of these everyday tools/implements.