MacAfee V Kis

rawprawn 19:57 27 Dec 10

I have been running Kaspersky Internet Security 2011 courtesy of Barclays for about 2 years and have been pleased with it's performance. However after the last build update I have had all kinds of problems and so I installed MacAfee Antivirus Plus courtesy of HSBC.
I know it hasn't got all the bells and whistles, but my computer is much faster, and I think it is fine for my needs.
Anyone got any comments? as I have never used MacAfee before.

rdave13 20:14 27 Dec 10

I refused the kind option of security from my bank. I've always ran free security programs and they have, and always will (hopefully), keep me secure with the knowledge gained from this site an a few others.
Security 'suits' have always made me shy away from them as they can literally take over your PC in the same way malware can. I don't like that.
It looks as if you only have an AV now, rawprawn, so you should investigate a free firewall and antimalware programs.

symphony 20:36 27 Dec 10

I find Macafee as good (or bad) as any other paid for security suite I've had (including Kaspersky).
I would run it alongside the free Malwarebytes' antimalware. This is great for picking up the few nasties that seem to inevitably get through.

rawprawn 20:41 27 Dec 10

It includes a Firewall, and I have SAS and Malwarebytes

rdave13 21:00 27 Dec 10

As long as MBM or SAS is paid for then that will help. (One off payments I think.)
symphony; think we'll all agree with your statement.

Woolwell 22:18 27 Dec 10

The reviews tend to put McAfee below Norton and Kaspersky. On one of our systems we have Norton and it is quite good.

rdave13 00:22 28 Dec 10

" Quite good", is it really good enough if you pay for it?
Just a question.

rawprawn 08:46 28 Dec 10

Both SAS, and MBM are Pro Versions.

birdface 12:29 28 Dec 10

my goodness I have to agree with rdave13 with this.
Any free Anti-Virus will do you as you have MalwareBytes and Superantispyware to back it up.