Mac user given a compaq laptop-help!

m00chie 14:55 13 Nov 07

Good afternoon all,
Was wondering if anyone can help me or give me some advice please?

Basically my sister has just bought a new laptop and has given me her old one (compaq evo N400C) and i'd like to connect to the internet on it but haven't got a clue as to how?

To be honest I've basic knowledge of computers and I'm not familiar with windows at all-I'm a Mac user!

At home I currently have a Apple Mac computer which is connected to the internet via NTL/Virgin with a ethernet cable.

I have no phone line, only the broadband connection.

Can anyone give me any guidance or advise me of how to get this laptop connected to the internet please?

ambra4 04:50 15 Nov 07

If any firewalls are installed on any of the PCs, uninstall them.

This includes Zone Alarm, Sygate, Kerio, Norton Internet Security, Zero Knowledge Freedom, Cisco VPN Client, F-Secure, McAfee Firewall, Trend Micro, Comodo, PC Tools Firewall Plus etc.

In many cases, disabling the firewall is not enough; you have to actually uninstall it.

Do not install or re-install the firewall until after you have the network functioning properly.

Start IE web browser. Select-Tools-Internet Options-Connection Tab

In the “Connection” screen, there are three selections:

“Never dial a connection”,

“Dial whenever a network connection is not present”

“Always dial my default connection”.

If you can make a selection, select “Never dial a connection”.

If you cannot make a selection, select “LAN Settings”

Untick marks next to any of the displayed Options:

“Automatically detect settings”,

“Use automatic configuration script”

“Use a proxy server”.

Click “OK”. Then click “OK” again in the “Internet Options” page

Network Adapter Setup

Also called a LAN card (Local Area Network) or NIC card (Network Interface Connection)

Click-Start-Settings-Network Connection

Double-click on the “Network Connection”