java virtual machine

judge1 13:54 27 Apr 04

hello to everyone i am fairly new to computers and have just had windows XP put on my comp,my problem is when i start my comp i get a message saying something about cant find class for java virtual machine, anybody know what it is please

Xevious 14:02 27 Apr 04

look for java virtual machine on the web (google should do) and install it

temp003 15:02 27 Apr 04

click here and download the Sun Java.

If you want to use the Microsoft one, it's also there, but the last I heard was that Microsoft will not (and canno) provide updates to its java virtual machine.

Xevious 15:13 27 Apr 04

from what i can remember the last time i looked for it on MS website, it is no longer available there anyway...

anchor 15:28 27 Apr 04

The final version of Microsoft Virtual machine is still available here

click here

Personally, I prefer it to the Sun Version. This thread might be of interest:

click here

After installation, reboot, and ensure you have a tick against, "JIT compiler for virtual machine enabled" in Internet Options, advanced.

judge1 15:44 27 Apr 04

thanks to everyone who tried to help but after reinstalling java when i start up it still says cant find main class

€dstowe 16:08 27 Apr 04

From what you say, XP is an upgrade from another operating system. If so, were service pack 1 and all the XP updates loaded when the XP was put on.

€d

judge1 16:16 27 Apr 04

i dont know i used to run windows 98 but had someone put XP on for me,not a copy i have the xp disc

€dstowe 18:21 27 Apr 04

OK, that's not really what I wanted to know, I'm sure your copy is legit.

What I'm curious about is: have you got all the updates and things for XP loaded with it?