Fingerprint not recognised in new machine

polymath 21:32 11 Dec 07

I bought a desktop and a laptop 2 weeks ago, both with Vista Home Premium preinstalled. I tried the laptop first, to start as simply as possible (I've no experience of XP, let alone Vista, and at least there's no monitor to install).

I've never been able to complete my very first User Authentication, so have never got into Vista (I haven't tried the desktop yet - I wanted to clear this problem up first, in case I'm doing something wrong). I've just got as far as being asked to swipe my finger over the sensor.

I managed to enter a password at some stage (and haven't forgotten it); the problem's with the fingerprint it always asks for; I've swiped quickly, swiped slowly, swiped in between, swiped more length and less, but it's always 'not recognised'.

I've had a complex email correspondance with the tech help people at Packard Bell, and tried various phone numbers they gave me, but no luck so far with this problem. A hardware helpline I rang ascertained it's a software problem (I guess it must be - the fingerprint sensor's obviously not broken). They gave me a software helpline number, but it's been engaged so far (perhaps the effect of a rush of new Vista users!)

The only thing I can think of is I might have swiped the sensor with the wrong part of my anatomy, when first asked for my fingerprint and looking for the sensor (I haven't seen one before, and didn't know where to look). So maybe the sensor is looking for, say, a particular square centimetre of the cuff of whatever jumper I was wearing the first time I turned on the laptop (the sensor's a little thing near the front edge of the keyboard).

A tech help person guided me through a Startup Repair. When it made no difference, I was advised to reinstall Vista , but I haven't done it yet (I wasn't entirely sure it was appropriate). I know how to, as it was another option when doing the startup repair.