E-Machines Celeron Upgrade Querey

NinkyRudes 13:08 19 Jan 03
  NinkyRudes 13:08 19 Jan 03

I have a two year old E-Machines C700a. I would like to make it as fast as possible. I have upgraded it to 256Mb of 100Mhz SDRAM, added a PCI (yuck!) Radeon 9000 64Mb, and an LG combo drive. It has a Intel Celeron processor plugged into a Socket 370 motherboard (as far as I know). I believe that these computers run a 66Mhz FSB (frontside bus). The other specs are irrelevant, since I cannot identify the manufacturer of the motherboard. All I can tell you is that it is based around the Intel 810 chipset, with two RAM slots, 3 PCI slots and no AGP (grr!). If anyone can let me know how far I might be capable of improving the processor without replacing the motherboard (I'm a student), I would be eternally grateful. I just wanta couple more fps out of my favourite 3D games, is that too much to ask? My concern is that the 66Mhz bus & socket 370 will restrict the number of Celerons I can go for. Thanks in advance.

NinkyRudes 13:23 19 Jan 03

Would I be right in thinking that I can only go as far as 766Mhz befor the FSB has to jump to 100Mhz?

firstagent 13:28 19 Jan 03

You could see if the configuration guide here
click here helps.

NinkyRudes 13:56 19 Jan 03

I don't really understand the intricacies, but this site appears to offer some sore of adapter for converting Slot 1 to Socket 370. My problem seems to be limited by the bus speed of my motherboard and/ or processor. Acording to Intel's website a Celeron 700Mhz has a multiplier of 10.5, making the core speed 66Mhz. Ideally I could just go out, buy a 1Ghz celeron processor, and replace the 700Mhz one, but I don't think this is possible, even if they are both Socket 370. Sorry if my inexperience is confusing everyone - I'm a first time help seeker!

NinkyRudes 13:59 19 Jan 03