Dream Machine m1530 vs m4300

sal_man 11:39 09 May 08

Hi All,

I am a design engineer though this is my first personal leptop and earlier I didnt think a lot about graphic cards and Operating System compaitbilty with CAD application (invetor & solidworks mailny).

Yesterday, I got my dellXPS M1530(with Vista Home Premium). I intend to use it for CAD & personal work.

Specifications of dell XPS M1530:

Intel CORE 2 DUO T8300 2.40GHz,800,3M
Graphics Card 256MB NVIDIA GeForce Go 8600M GT
Memory Dual Channel 4.0GB (2x2048 ) 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Drive 320GB SATA (5400rpm)
Battery XPS Primary 9-cell 85WHr Li-Ion
Display 15.4" WXGA (1280x800) with Truelife
2.0mp camera
Dell Travel Remote control
Dell Black 5-Button Bluetooth Travel Mouse (not available wi)

My colleague told me it is not good for CAD user, so I need your advice that should I keep this laptop (if it'll work fine with CAD) or replace with precision M4300 (will cost £150 extra, without camera & bluetooth mouse and with smaller hard-disc too).

M4300 (OS: Windows® XP )specs are-

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T8300 (2.4GHz,3MB,800MHz)
FX360M Graphics(256MB dedicated memory)
MEMORY 4GB 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM Memory (2*2048 )
HARD DRIVE 200GB SATA (7,200RPM) Hard Drive (Free fall sensor)
9 Cell 85/WHr Smart Li-Ion Primary Battery
LCD 15.4" WXGA (1280 x 800) Wide Aspect Ratio display

As I've only one 5 days to return it so please guide me as at present I dont have various CAD applications (except autoCAD2008 ).

sal_man 12:18 09 May 08

What difference will the graphic card make. I mean if I'll use current card NVIDIA GeForce Go 8600M GT (which is not listed in Solidworks website), what kind of trouble will I face...

sal_man 12:51 09 May 08

Please reply soon friends.. I really need help...

Totally-braindead 13:55 09 May 08

I don't know enough about CAD to be able to comment but the second laptop will be considerably faster than the first one as it uses XP rather than Vista.