applemac or toshiba laptop

newtothisnovice 17:27 30 Aug 06

I have a desktop at the moment an want to buy my first laptop, I have 2 different systems in mind and would appreciate peoples opinions on them both they are as follows:-

apple macbook
13" white 2.0 ghz intel core duo
60gb serial ATA drive
I would upgrade it to 1gb 667 DDR2 ram
13.3 TFT display
superdrive
bluetooth etc
2.36 kilo
or:-
Toshiba f30-117
intel centrino duo
1.66 ghz
667 mhz
2mb cache
120 gb hard drive
15.4" screen
5 in 1 media card slot
weight 3.9 kilos

I have never worked on a mac before but have heard its not that different if you install bootcamp you can run windows on it. The softwares not a probelem as my brothers got an i-mac an he will sort it out for me.
I want it for basic tasks, e-mailing and browsing the web, but when/if my daughter goes to uni, I want it to be compatable with whatever she may want it for. I want to get the best my money will buy so that in a years time or so(not sure how quick things move) technology wont have moved on that quick that it will be in therory outdated and ill still have a decent machine.
Hope you understand this bit of a novice with technology, only know what ive picked up from the kids! One says toshiba one says mac!!!!!!!!!!!
any responses would be gratfully received.

Forum Editor 18:34 30 Aug 06

whether you should buy a bar of milk chocolate or a bar of plain. Both of them are chocolate, but they taste a bit different - it depends on your personal preference.

The Apple is a lovely machine - looks nice, and does exactly what it says on the tin. You can run Microsoft Office on it, and to all intents and purposes it will be just like any other laptop, except it's a Mac. That means that an awful lot of commonly-used software won't run on it, and that may be a deciding factor, particularly for your daughter.

Using your brother's Mac software isn't allowed - it's a contravention of the licence agreement, so don't try it.